MyHeritage Family History Month freebie

Wearing my new hat (shoes?) as the Shoestring Genealogist, I’m very pleased to hear from MyHeritage that they have a special free treat for us this National Family History Month.

Australian Community Manager Emma Datny says: “In honour of National Family History Month this August, MyHeritage is giving free access to millions of Australian historical records between August 15-22. These include birth, marriage and death certificates, electoral rolls, school records, and many more.”

MyHeritage National Family History Month logo

MyHeritage celebrates #NFHM2014

Now that’s very exciting news because it will help me with my own #NFHM2014 project, which I mentioned in my last post: ‘have another look at that brick wall – construct a time line of known facts and relook at everything.’ (And thanks again to Shauna Hicks for the idea.)

I’ve decided to have another go at Rebecca Harrington, my 2x great-grandmother who emigrated from the East End of London to Sydney, New South Wales, where she met my convict James Thomas Richards.

I can’t find out when she left, and I haven’t been able to prove that her father Thomas went with her, or indeed her mother Julia (who is herself a huge great Irish brick wall).

MyHeritage is also hosting a free webinar on ‘Golden Genealogy Rules: Tips to uncover your family heritage’ with Shauna on Monday, 18 August, which I’ve signed up for. It’s on air from 9pm AEST. That’s midday here in the UK, so since I’m on holiday that week I’ll be able to watch live.

(Tip: there are lots of time zone converters on the net. I find the one at timeanddate.com quick and easy to use.)

So that’s GeniAus’s Hangout on Air (catch up here), Shauna’s webinar, a timeline project and a week looking at Aussie records on MyHeritage. I’ll be busy this National Family History Month! Thanks to all for the great genealogy inspiration.

 

© A Rebel Hand 2014
About rebelhand

A Rebel Hand is: about Nicholas Delaney, Irish rebel of 1798, transported as a convict to New South Wales, roadbuilder, innkeeper and farmer. My great-great-great grandfather. Other ancestors transported to Australia, like Sarah Marshall, John Simpson and James Thomas Richards, pop up as well. This blog's also about the historical background to their lives, in England, Ireland, and Australia.
This entry was posted in Australia, Genealogy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MyHeritage Family History Month freebie

  1. Fran Kitto says:

    Hi Frances, Returning your visit to my travelgenee blog. Good thing I did as I had read about the MyHeritage free access but not remembered the details. Fran

Leave a Reply

